Eyewitnesses to the Stations of the Cross: Part 4

CrossThis is the fourth in the series of reflections on the stations of the cross.

I began to wonder about the wide-range of emotion among those who experienced the stations of the cross first-hand. I wrote this version of the Stations of the Cross to reflect these conflicting feelings. It was originally set as a play and is out of my own imagination. It is not meant to be historically accurate. It is meant to put us into the events of that day, for Jesus’ Passion is our story, too.

Each day through Good Friday I will post another “eye-witness” account. As you read, put yourself in the story and compare your own reactions, motivations, hopes and fears with the character’s. I invite you to reflect with me:


ANGRY THIEF
I hate these people with their laws and supposed righteousness! Look at me, a common thief sentenced to die! And for what, taking gold from a rich man?

And Jesus, what a fraud! He claims to be the Messiah, the Son of God. Well, I don’t know where His god is now…what a joke! He deserves to die for making such outrageous claims!

But me, not me! And He even has someone to help Him carry His cross. “Hey, why don’t you find someone to help me!” I yell to the Romans. The whip is their reply. I hate them.

“Hold up!” they say. What now, can’t we get this over with? I turn around and see that Jesus has fallen—again. Isn’t that the point of having someone helping with His cross, to make sure He doesn’t fall.

The Romans grab Him and force Him to stand. “Good.” I say with a smirk. At least someone is getting their due today.

WOMAN OF JERUSALEM
This can’t be happening! Don’t they see what a good man Jesus is? He healed the sick, cured the lame, gave sight to the blind and hope to the despairing! Why should He die for this? 

Oh, Jesus what are we going to do now! You stood by us, said that we were loved by God. No one else ever said that to us… to me. 

The crowds won’t even let us stand near you now as though we are unworthy to be present at an execution. So, we stand here and weep.

I was there when the priests saw you clear out the temple. They were so angry! Will they come after Your followers, too? Will they come after me?

Oh Jesus! Oh my Jesus!

Leave a Reply

